Monday, November 01, 2010


Madrid-based sextet Racalmuto have released a fantastic new CD titled DE NUEVO EN EL INFIERNO, featuring faithful renditions of seven classic Raymond Scott compositions from the 1930s-'40s:

• "Oil Gusher"
• "The Girl With The Light Blue Hair"
• "Birdlife In The Bronx"
• "Reckless Night on Board an Ocean Liner"
• "A Little Bit of Rigoletto"
• "Suicide Cliff"
• "Tobacco Auctioneer"

An eighth tune associated with (but not composed by) Scott, "Brass Buttons and Epaulets" (from the 1938 film Just Around the Corner), is also included, played in the RSQ arrangement. Other CD tracks include modern takes on vintage tunes by Ellington, Tchaikovsky, and Slim Gaillard, along with one original penned by group leader Miguel Malla.
CD artwork
CD cover artwork

1 comment:

  1. To anybody who has given up the ordering process after noticing that the only country that can be selected is Spain: Don't fill out the form but select "Términos y Condiciones". In the middle of that document the conditions for international shipping and details of the order procedure can be found (I got a reply within the same day).